From wine barrel to beehive, how to?

Here I am again after one month of enjoyment watching my visiting bees building their combs inside my 450 litre wine barrel, (at least that is what I assume they are doing since I cannot look into the barrel other than through the bung hole). Over the last days I have observed an increase in activity and numbers of bee trying to find a way in and out. Overcrowding ?? (Just remember I am a beginner by default and hope to put up some more intelligent questions when finishing the bee keeper course.!!) Pending this I wonder wether it makes sense to put a simple hive somewhere in the neighbourhood of the barrel to tempt a possible second queen to move in with a new swarm ? Too simple ???

cheers and a happy being in 2018

Wouter

Hi Wouter,

The workers in the hive have likely increased in numbers as the queens comb laying space has increased. I doubt they would be overcrowded in a 450 litre barrel if they have just moved in, in comparison a 10 frame Langstroth box is about 42 litres so it’s like a 11 box Langstroth hive :smiley: .

Cutting them out will be a real chore and I would advise that if you wanted to keep them to get them out ASAP as it will only get more difficult as the size of the hive/comb increases. The process will essentially be the same as the following:

Cutting into the barrel will increase complexity and removing/re-establishing larger combs will also make it more difficult. Some people will likely claim that you can trap them out, but I don’t see the nurse bees or queen leaving established large brood combs in the barrel.