Can you avoid burr comb between boxes?

Hi,
Lovely warm day today for a thorough inspection. Fortunately I have a strong colony with no sign of disease. But I’m still very new at this and have some questions. My hive overwintered with two full-depth brood boxes, and on removing the upper frames I found that there is burr comb between the boxes, and as the top frames came out the burr comb was pulled apart revealing big white grubs. Presumably these will now die. Is this normal and/or is there anything that can be done to prevent it?
Thanks,
Frank

Frank,

Welcome to the site.

This is usually caused by the bee space being incorrect between the bottom of the frames in the top box, and the top bars of the frames below.

You are correct that these damaged cells will now die, and it’s a less than pleasant job to clean up. If you have the top box off, I would use the hive tool to scrape the top of the bars in the bottom box to clean them up. Alternatively you can leave them and the bees will correct/clean it up, but may continue to use this space for brood.

Based on this, I suspect the queen has moved up in to the top box, did you find many brood filled frames?

Same thing has happened to me. Not a good feeling, seeing those exposed larvae/pupae. It’s my first inspection with a colony I established around Christmas time. My hive is all Manley depth boxes, which measure 169 deep. The frames are Guilframes, which measure 150 deep. That’s 19mm between frames: around 11mm too much, from the reading Ive done. Time to fire up the table saw and take a slice off the boxes I think!

19mm is crazy!, it also doesn’t account for the 2-3mm above the top bar in the lower box.

You will generally find this specific spacing issue is caused by one of three things:

1. Metrication of imperial hive dimensions